Get Your Smile On

A day stands a much better shot at going well if you remember to get your smile on in the morning. The thing is, sometimes life builds up and the smile gets forgotten. A few years ago when my dad and stepbrother passed away I learned how important that was, but I didn’t even know I was doing it. A friend had to point it out to me.

“Suzanne, you remind me of that song,” she said.

“What song?”

” You know, that song about, ‘Smile, though your something or other'”, then she hummed a few bars.

I did know that song!

Smile though your heart is aching
Smile even though it’s breaking
When there are clouds in the sky, you’ll get by
If you smile through your fear and sorrow
Smile and maybe tomorrow
You’ll see the sun come shining through for you

And I realized that I was doing that, getting my smile on through fear and sorrow.

So today I reference not because I am in the midst of fear and sorrow, some sorrow, yes, but nothing I can’t handle, but the smile is still the gigantic rainbow and sunshine in the room, every day!

Ok, Suzanne, you may ask, where do I get this smile?

  1. Make a playlist of all your favorite songs. I mean favorites, going way back (and for me way back goes a pretty long way). Figure out a way to play that playlist on your way to work; whether you create a cd, burn it to an iPod, or create an electronic playlist that you can play back.
  2. Listen to the playlist on your way to work.
  3. Every time a song begins you will smile. You will smile and say very quickly to yourself, “Ooh, I like this song,” and then you will sing along.
  4. And you will do that over and over again because…

It’s a playlist of your favorite songs!

Have fun and don’t forget to GET YOUR SMILE ON TODAY!

3 thoughts on “Get Your Smile On

  1. Yes – this makes all the sense in the world! My saying is, “Fake it till you make it!” It just makes you feel so much better inside when you have a smile on the outside. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

Leave a Reply

