One More Strike Against Daylight Savings

One week ago.

I finished dressing and headed down to turn on the coffee pot. As I trotted down the stairs I caught sight of the light coming in through the window in my front door. “Huh!” I sucked in some air. “It’s so light out!”

I skipped down the last few steps and, putting my hand on the top of the baluster, I rounded the bend and headed the short distance towards the kitchen. I fumbled with the gate and was greeted by my dogs. “Hey guys,” I said. “Hey, hi there, yes, hello.” They each stretched into their down dog poses and came over for a morning scratch. Hoping I was here to feed them they kind of stood in my way. I nudged them over a bit with my leg and walked around the island to the coffee pot. I reached out with my right hand and pressed the rectangular button. It acknowledged my press with a satisfying little click and a lovely blue light.

The dogs had gone back to their beds, realizing I was only here momentarily. They knew my routine, knew I’d be back down soon to start the important part of the day. I scurried back up the stairs and finished my morning routine in overtime. “Ugh, how did I let so much time slip by this morning?” I thought to myself. I ran back downstairs, fed the dogs, made my lunch and began to prepare my breakfast.

That’s when I spotted the clock on the stove. And on the microwave. I double checked the watch on my arm. “Hmm,” I thought to myself, “I’m not late at all. As a matter of fact, I still have plenty of time.” That’s when it dawned on me! It was so light out! The mornings had been getting gradually brighter. Today the skies were clear and it was so light out when I came down the stairs that I thought I was running late. But I wasn’t!

Cool!

Yesterday morning, one week later.

I finished dressing and headed down to turn on the coffee pot. As I trotted down the stairs I caught sight of the window in my front door. “Ahh!” I sighed with happiness. “I’m doing really well with my time this morning.”

I ambled the rest of the way down the stairs, rounded the baluster and headed the short distance towards the kitchen. I fumbled with the gate and was greeted by my dogs. “Hey guys,” I said. “Hey, hi there, yes, hello.” They each stretched into their down dog poses and came over for a morning scratch. Hoping I was here to feed them they kind of stood in my way. I spent a bit more time petting them, explaining that I would feed them soon. Reminding them that I was only here to turn on the coffee pot. I nudged them over a bit with my leg and walked around the island to the coffee pot. I reached out with my right hand and pressed the rectangular button. It acknowledged my press with a satisfying little click and a lovely blue light. Then I sat to read some of the mail I had put aside the evening before. “Good time to catch up a bit while I wait for a cup of coffee,” I thought to myself with a little virtual hug.

The dogs had gone back to their beds, as if they actually understood me. They knew I’d be back down soon and start the important part of the day. I heard the gentle ‘beep’ of the coffee pot and poured myself a cup of coffee to take with me. Then I went back upstairs to finish getting ready for school. “Mornings are pretty luxurious some days,” I thought to myself. When I got back downstairs I fed the dogs, made my lunch and began to prepare my breakfast.

That’s when I spotted the clock on the stove. And on the microwave. I double checked the watch on my arm. “Uh oh,” I thought to myself, “I don’t have all the time in the world. As a matter of fact, I need to eat and run!” That’s when it dawned on me! It was so dark out! The mornings were no longer bright, so no alarms went off in my head. I had been lulled into thinking it was an hour earlier by…grrr, the clocks changing! It was so dark out when I came down the stairs that I thought I was early. But I wasn’t!

Crap!

9 thoughts on “One More Strike Against Daylight Savings

  1. You make me wish I would have lived during a time before clocks when we could just go by the light. Imagine sleeping until the sun welcomes you to your day –and sleeping even longer if the sun chooses not to shine — and all that being okay with the rest of the community!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A tale of two mornings…how that dang time change affects us. You express it well. I love your doggie conversations. I think dogs DO understand us.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love it when I feel rushed and then look at the clock and realize that I am ahead of schedule. I love when the sky is bright in the morning letting me know that spring is on its way.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the virtual hug and the slight smugness when you are leisurely thinking that have it all under control and then… WOOPS!!! NOT!!!! It happens to me all the time! Life has a way of keeping us in check, just when we think we’re totally in charge.
    A great chuckle of a post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment