Connections

As I wrote yesterday, I went to see the movie “Captain Marvel”. And as I mentioned a week or so ago, I am reading (listening actually) to the book “Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine”. I have been listening to the book for about two weeks now and am really really close to the end. Captain Marvel, on the other hand, only took two hours from start to finish. Captain Marvel is, of course a story about a superhero. But the thing is, so is Eleanor Oliphant!

I love it when it dawns on me that two often dissimilar things are like each other. I do it all the time, draw these connections. My son told me a few years ago that that is because I am a “like” person. And not the kind of “like” person who likes everything on Facebook (even the sad or disturbing things, I just don’t get that!). He meant a “like” person who connects things. Often disparate things. He went on to say that he does the same thing and he feels there are “like” people, people who naturally make these types of connections. It’s just that Facebook kind of ruined the word “like” for all of us so calling someone a “like” person can conjure the wrong image.

So anyway, back to my disparate stories. They are both about our need for superheroes. Superheroes step in (or fly in) when there is a need. They come out of nowhere and right wrongs. They bring balance when all has gone wild and askew. Superheroes aren’t so much trained in what to do as much as they are willing to do what needs to be done. And that’s why we all need superheroes. It’s also why we all love superheroes. We just don’t always recognize them when they are right there.

That person who took the time to give you directions when you were lost and late for a very important date. A kind stranger? No, a superhero.

That person who listened the day you were so distraught, just listened and only spoke when you needed them to. A friend? No, a superhero.

That person who took the time to explain something again and again so you would understand it. A teacher? No, a superhero.

You get the idea. Superheroes are all around. They are the characters in the books and stories we love. Captain Marvel is a superhero, but it takes her a bit to figure that out. She ultimately does and then she is able to provide exactly what is needed. And there is a character who is a superhero in Eleanor Oliphant. A marvelous character who steps up and does exactly what is needed. No one asks him to and that is the beauty of this character. What makes him a superhero. And it is what helped me make this connection. And take it to the beyond!

Because we are also superheroes. When we are the superhero in someone’s life we don’t do it because we are told we must, or even asked. We just do it. We step in. We listen. We guide. We support.

We do what we know we are needed to do.

Just “like” superheroes!

6 thoughts on “Connections

  1. One of my favorite curriculum units in preschool is superheroes, for many of the reasons you include here…I love this line/perspective “They bring balance when all has gone wild and askew.” Yes! I want all children to grow up believing they are superheroes! BTW, I think your son’s description of you both being connectors means you are both superheroes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! If you haven’t seen Captain Marvel yet I encourage you to go. My third graders kept popping in my head as I watched it. I was thinking of ways for them to strive to be superheroes!!!

      Like

  2. I love the idea of expanding the parameters of superhero definitions. I “like” the idea of being a like person…those unexpected connections can lead to interesting revelations, like yours!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment