He’s Baaaack

Nope, not him. Rodger. Rodger is back.

“Why?” you say.

“Because it is the first day of Spring!”

“No, no way,” you reply. “It is too early. Spring doesn’t arrive until March 20th. Sometimes the 21st. But never on the 19th.”

“Well, remember,” I would say, “never say never.” Then I would remind you what happened to Sean Connery when he said he would ‘never’ play “Bond, James Bond” again. Exactly, Never Say Never.

But I digress. Back to Rodger. Back to Spring! Spring arrives this evening (actually tonight), March 19, 2020 at 11:50 pm Eastern Time. According to the Farmer’s Almanac this hasn’t happened since 1896! But this year it is true and the Vernal Equinox is upon us. I think a lot of it has to do with dividing up that 365 (this year 366) day trip around the sun into 4 seasons. Do the math, it’s kind of ugly.

But again, I digress. Back to Rodger. I have engaged in a one woman tradition (actually, my family plays along as do many of my colleagues) of standing an egg every year (for more than 35 years now) on the first day of Spring. I’m not the only person in the world who does it. There are many of us. There are nay sayers. They don’t bother me though.

Because it’s fun! A few years ago my classroom egg took on the name of Rodger. It was a particularly odd group of kids that year. Everything I taught them reminded them of a Sponge Bob episode. And there is an episode with an egg. So…Rodger became named after a Sponge Bob episode. I’m sure at least one of you is nodding their heads right now because you know!

So welcome Spring and Happy Birthday Rodger!

3 thoughts on “He’s Baaaack

  1. I am so happy to see Rodger! First for the tradition of you and your silly, delightful, eclectic Egg Day, and secondly because it’s Spring! Well – almost! Thank you for brightening my day with your post of tradition and the cycles of the earth which thankfully keep us moving through time in the loveliest of ways.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment