Hierarchy

This is a great word. It is formidable. It feels good to say it. And it lends weight to what we use it for. In other words, it is a perfect word. So is formidable. Again, it feels good to say it. And it lends weight to what we use it for. It feels like what it means.

We all walk around with a hierarchy of things we are willing to do. To accept. To neglect. To acknowledge. Or ignore. We possess a list. Numbered one to ten or lettered A to Z. Our hierarchy is not the same as our loved ones’ hierarchies. Not the same as our coworkers’. Nor as our boss’s (don’t they wish). If everyone walked about with their hierarchies floating above their heads, woohoo, wouldn’t that just be something!

But we each do maintain this mental list of things we are willing to put up with. Things we are willing to sit through. People we are willing to listen to. Annoyances we are willing to ignore. Think about a day commuter. They put up with traffic, tolls, distances and road closures every single day because on their list of hierarchies, something else sits higher.

We teachers have that hierarchy dilemma. Because our work day ends but our work continues. We bring it home with us. Monday through Friday, Saturday and Sunday, week after week we prioritize the work we do for our kids over the life we need and want to live. But it’s that hierarchy that gets us every time. Those kids in our classes need us to prioritize for them. And we do.

So next time you put aside a book you want to read, or laundry you need to fold, or a TV show you have been waiting to begin so you can do something for your students, remember, it’s your hierarchy. You are a formidable educator and nothing can stand in the way of that!

9 thoughts on “Hierarchy

  1. WOW! You have me thinking. I like how you structured this. A word. We all have it. Then at the end, connecting it to this word associated with teachers. Then you end coming back to the word’s definition . Great last line: You are a formidable educator and nothing can stand in the way of that! As I see people today, I’m going to pretend to see their list floating above their heads! This would be something, indeed! Thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is really good to think about and such a powerful topic! I am finally learning to weigh things in my mind before choosing, so that my actions are consicous choices and not just random flow. Being purposeful about hierarchy lends itself to less frustration and “I didn’t want to spend the afternoon doing this!” Thank you for recognizing and elevating the notion of positive servitude inherent in the choice to teach and teach well. As always, you bring such an interesting point to light that is a delight to read. Nicley done!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. For a teacher, I can certainly understand the importance of hierarchy (how can I ever remember the spelling of that word?). I never was a teacher but I was a professional and I needed hierarchy to organize myself and manage my staff. I often tried to get their hierarchy to understand their moves. Not always obvious. Words are formidable!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like this word study and I really like how you framed your word. You’re right, we do all have hierarchies. Honestly, I left teaching in December, not because I don’t love teaching and the kids, but because my personal hierarchy didn’t mesh well with a teacher’s hierarchy. I want to put students first, but I hate that society makes us do that and I (selfishly, I guess) want some work life balance! Very cool and thought-provoking post. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Excellent thought and I like how the word hierarchies implies objects in order of importance better than priorities (which feels more co equal?).

    This piece has a pace to it that really kept me reading. Short sentences and long sentences and small commentaries that feel like asides are layered with really profound thoughts like where we spend our precious time and the sacrifices we make.

    Also. You made me think. Excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for sharing your thoughts so eloquently. You really made me think about how I view my own hierarchy. I personally have a hard time with work/life balance. That is exactly why I decided to do the SOLC. It is forcing me to stop doing school work after dinner and spend some time doing something I enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes, I agree. The slice project is a huge lift this time of the year. I am enjoying your posts and glad it has landed high on your hierarchy of things worth doing!

    Like

Leave a comment