The People You Meet

I sat side by side with a therapist while she probed the stories beneath the stories of her patients. Each case presented as one set of problems but ultimately revealed itself to be something else, something deeper. The patients didn’t want to look at these problems but they did. Healing happened but the process was arduous. The people I met were fascinating.

I sat side by side with an American who had a Pakistani name. His parents were from Pakistan. He was not. His American story, however, got mired by the events of 9-11. His American status could not overcome what people saw when they looked at him. Could not overcome what people heard when they learned his name. He suffered because of the judgements meted out by his fellow Americans. Americans led to believe they had the right to judge. The person I met captivated me with their story.

I sat side by side with a brilliant group of senior citizens. I met up with them in their senior living residences in jolly old England and listened in as they solved murder mysteries. They danced around the local officials, waltzed with danger, and sometimes met with tragedy. But they got the job done and I laughed with them and cried with them and feared for them. The people I met became my dear friends.

I sat side by side with a couple of ranch hands. They needed work and they needed to stay out of trouble. The problem was that trouble had a way of finding them. When trouble knocked too hard I wanted to stop reading. I didn’t want to see what I knew was coming. But I stuck with the book because the people I met deserved to be heard.

I read a lot of books and the people I meet open my eyes to places, problems, and ideas. They offer me the opportunity to expand my knowledge and take a walk in their shoes. I might never do these things in ‘real’ life. But a book can take me anywhere. And I’m grateful for the people I meet while I’m there.

Who have you met recently in the pages of a book?

11 thoughts on “The People You Meet

  1. Love this post! My best friend is Mark Watney- the guy who got left on Mars in The Martian. Through his eyes I gained a new perspective of the frailty of life on Earth.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Love love love the book! Funny story, my mom picked the book up a few years ago, it was sitting on my kitchen island. She read the opening line and closed the cover and said, “I do not like that word.” Then I explained why the author chose that particular expletive to introduce us to his main character’s predicament and she said, “Oh, I see your point.” She went on to sit side by side with the guy left behind on Mars and loved the book! Still cracks me up, that story.

      Like

  2. I really love the way you have written this post. This week I am sitting side by side with the Fresh Prince. He is going everywhere with me – on walks, in the car, and even to the supply room during my prep time (thank goodness for audiobooks!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so cool! You had me thinking these were actual expereinces until way into the post. My latest meeting was with a woman in China who had to give up her daughter – her second child for adoption because of the one child law…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this so much for not only myself but also for a great way for students to write about their books too! Your last paragraph is the perfect reason why I read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment