Can We Blame It On the Moon?

OMG, the moon looks full again. Geez, didn’t this happen just last month? And now it is happening again? My class is going crazy and we are in the midst of an insane week. Pajama Day on Monday, Teacher Crazy Hair Day on Tuesday, Game Day on Wednesday, students dress in their wackiest, wildest, greenest style from head to toe on Thursday, and Friday we have a Hoops for Heart event and a race between the Cat in the Hat and our Bengal Tiger. Ladies and Gentlemen, this is all happening this week.

I think I miss the quiet.

Teaching during Covid was quiet. Each teaching day was the same. There were no crazy days. There were no assemblies. There were no events. We taught each day for the couple of hours that we were in school (it was a shortened day) and then we went home. Teaching periods were left intact. Granted, not all of the kids were in school every day. But each day was the same. The schedule did not erupt on a regular basis.

I used to think it was the full moon that acted so harshly on the behavioral capabilities of our children. But I think they would handle the tug of the tides (or whatever it is that the moon does) a little better if their learning days remained a bit more intact and focused.

I don’t miss the extreme days of Covid. Hybrid teaching and six feet apart and masks. I know we are still struggling but I don’t miss the two years of extremes. Not one little bit. But I wish we had paid attention to what worked. I wish we had learned.

Oh well, St Pat’s Day today. Get ready to go crazy!

5 thoughts on “Can We Blame It On the Moon?

  1. That is a crazy week. We are headed into Spring Break now that classes have let out for the week. Everyone must be ready for it as the hallways were subdued at dismissal, all things taken into account.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are wise to look at what worked during Covid. I am still using Zoom to include college students who cannot make it to class. Too much crazy does not seem necessary – but it is fun….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. the lessons I took from virtual storytelling–wear more colorful clothes (I had been wearing a uniform for the previous 6 years) and make more art with the stories. It’s hard, now back in the classroom with students, to get it all done in the 30 minutes I’m allotted with each, but I do more prep and leave the art materials with the teacher to do later.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It certainly sounds like a crazy week. I love the line “I think I miss the quiet.” I am with you. It is wonderful to be back in person with my students, but the quiet time was so valuable, for students and for us. I plan to reflect this summer on the the two years to make sure I keep only the best of things.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment