Have You Read This?

So I have this little problem, see, and it has to do with books. The thing is

I LOVE BOOKS!

I was pretty much born with a book in my hand. I was that kid reading with a flashlight in bed and turning it off really fast when I heard my father’s car coming down the road. I was that kid who wouldn’t leave the grocery story unless my mother bought me a new Golden Book. I was that kid that who would rather read than sit on the beach (I didn’t like reading in the sun so reading on the beach was not an option). And don’t even get me started on what it felt like when the bookmobile came to my school!

And I still read, all the time.

Which brings me to today. And my Slice.

I am always reading a novel to my class. We go from one book to the next. As I near the end of one all I hear is, “What are we reading next?” I always start the year with Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Harry is my go-to main character. His problems span the spectrum from choosing friends to dealing with stardom to focusing on your studies! Parents come to me every year and tell me how Harry Potter has turned their child into a reader. And they are so grateful.

Right now I am reading Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate to my class. The depth of understanding these third graders are exhibiting for this boy and his troubles is impressive to say the least. They will hopefully not ever experience homelessness in their lifetime but they are living it through Jackson, the main character. He is walking them through the emotions of losing (almost) everything in the real way that only an amazing novel can. It is this first hand “experience” we gain from reading that fortifies my teaching, I can speak about places I’ve never been and struggles I have never had because my world is enriched by books.

So I would like to present a list of books. Books I have shared with third graders over the years. Books we have all learned from and loved. They are not in a particular order except for the top of the list which contains the top of my list, those books I reach for every year. I would love to hear from you about the books you reach for this same way!

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling

Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

The Farthest Away Mountain by Lynn Reid Banks

Molly’s Pilgrim by Barbara Cohen

Gooney Bird Greene by Lois Lowry

A Series of Unfortunate Events; The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snickett

Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate

The Boy On the Porch by Sharon Creech

Sideways Stories From Wayside School by Louis Sachar

Half Magic by Edward Eager

Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

Stone Fox by John Reynolds Gardiner

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo

Thank You Jackie Robinson by Barbara Cohen

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Silverwing by Kenneth Oppel

Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis

and the most recent book I plan on reading this year:

Pax by Sara Pennypacker

 

Hopefully you will recognize some old friends from this list or perhaps make a new friend that you will try out this year. I look forward to some of your lists because four of my favorite words are

Have you read this?

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Have You Read This?

  1. I, too, am a HUGE book lover and reader. I have read most of the books on your list, and here are a few that I offer to you and your class: Counting on Grace by Elizabeth Winthrop, Looking for Me by Betsy Rosenthal, Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson, The Contract by Derek Jeter, the Gooney Bird Greene Collection by Lois Lowrey. I’m on Goodreads–are you? Would love to follow you!

    P.S. I really loved Pax!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I am always looking for a new book or two. I’m reading The Wild Robot by Pete Brown right now. And I love Gooney Bird!!! We do a Gooney Bird Greene Day where the kids come in dressed with a little ‘flair’ and tell a story about themselves. Absolutely true story, of course. I am on Goodreads as xcntrytrip, I’ll look for you as well.

      Like

  2. What great ideas! I will be returning to the classroom next year (I’ve been an instructional coach) and I CAN’T WAIT to read to a class again! I’m also waiting to get my hands on Raymie Nightengale–so much to look forward to! Enjoy your books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

