Today Is Going To Be a ____ Day

I woke up thinking, “Today will be a long day.” Not long in the dreading sense, just long in the number of hours sense. I have my usual teaching day followed by the usual Monday faculty meeting followed by a dinner meeting that will probably last a few hours. So I expect to leave home about 7:15 am (if I can get this post written, hahaha) and return tonight at about 9 pm. Not your typical teaching day but, hey, you gotta do what you gotta do.

It was that thought I woke up with that got me thinking about how I compartmentalize the day ahead of me upon awaking. Some days are just going to be long. But those long days can be long due to difficulties lying ahead or due to just ‘lots of stuff’ in the day. For example on Saturday, April 8, I will wake up at 3:30 am and say, “Today is going to be a long day,” and I will dance a little jig. That’s because on that particular day the longness will be a result of the fact that my husband and I will be driving to Florida that day. So yeah, long day, but woohoo, long day! Last week I woke one day thinking of how long the day was going to be because it was the day of my husband’s surgery and just waiting for the conclusion of that event was going to make it a long day.

Valentine’s Day, Field Day, class trips, holiday party days, first days of school, even last days of school can all be classified as long days for varying reasons. So what about, “Today is going to be a great day,” and “Today is going to be a terrible day,” or even “Today is going to be a day I won’t want to end,” or the dreaded “I wish today was over.” Each sets us up for the day ahead, maybe in a good way or maybe in a not so good way but we face the day prepared. And I guess that is what I am doing upon waking, preparing myself.

And if they were all good days (with no ‘bad’ days to balance the good) would any of them be as much fun? The weather can’t always be sunny, at least here in NJ, so I guess I will just keep on assessing and taking the good with the _____.

One thought on “Today Is Going To Be a ____ Day

Leave a comment