Life Has Character

My husband and I are planning on attending the funeral of one of our neighbors today. Tom was a large character in our neighborhood. We met him when we first moved in. He was that neighbor who was always out and about. He knew who was getting work done in their house, who was going away on vacation, who was dealing with a sick family member. You never needed to worry about your home when you weren’t around, Tom was there.

Tom, a Vietnam War Vet, flew the American flag and the Marine Corp flag in front of his immaculately tended home. He hosted a clan of bicycle riding friends and in his younger days spent his weekends taking 100 mile rides. This feat that totally impressed our family and made him god-like in my kids eyes. He drove a really cool convertible. One day he helped me out when I needed someone to watch my younger son. Shaun’s eyes were wide afterwards when he announced, “Tom took me out in his car and he took the lid off!” Tom always greeted the kids with, “Hey guy,” which had a way of making them feel special. He was, in short, the knight of our neighborhood.

So it is with sadness that I prepare to bid adieu to this man. His passing will leave a big hole in the lives of many people for varied reasons. Some because they loved this husband, brother, uncle, cousin. Some because he touched their lives every day and made a difference. Some because he carries within him a piece of their story, because he is a character in the story of their life.

More than anything, Tom’s passing has made me ponder the story of my life. Because a life, just like any story, is rife with characters, how can it not be? Primary characters, secondary characters, supporting characters, antagonists. Each of these characters drives us forward. Each of these characters affects the decisions we make. Each of these characters, therefore, creates us. Tom was one of the rich characters, his part was small but he played it big.

Farewell Tom. Thanks for the memories, guy!

12 thoughts on “Life Has Character

  1. This is too beautiful to give a mere “Like.” How wonderful that you put your feelings down for the larger world to experience and widened Tom’s ripple-effect. I love Shaun’s comment, “He took the lid off, ” and think about the metaphoric strength of that. Obviously Tom made the sun shine in on all of you. This makes me want to be THAT kind of neighbor. I’m sorry for your loss, truly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If we could all only be inspired to be that kind of neighbor, you are so right! And I love how gave my words the strength of a metaphor! Tom was sunshine!

      Like

  2. Tom sounds like a character I would like to meet. Sending love and positive vibes to your neighborhood today. Thanks for writing in such a way that I am now reflecting on my own mortality.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely tribute to the knight of your neighborhood. Your words show what a big difference he made. His actions will continue to influence others. What a wonderful celebration of a life.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. When I was very sick, I had a neighbor that would shovel my walk each time it snowed and asked for nothing in return, not even recognition. I knew it was her even though I never saw her.
    She did it so very early in the morning. Thanks for the reminder that we need to be aware of our neighbors and bring whatever “sunshine” we can to each other.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tom’s legacy is inspiring. Your ending reminded me of the importance of reaching out and being a character in someone’s life. Sending warm thoughts for you and your neighborhood.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love your line, “His part was small but he played it big.” What a beautiful legacy this man has left. It is another lesson of how small things, gestures, words, can make a big difference. A beautiful tribute.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment