Oh Bed, Though Art So Cozy

Ugh, it’s that dang alarm. Interfering with my sleep again. An entire day lays before me but I can only think of one thing- my bed! I don’t want to get up. I don’t want to be cold. I don’t want to start all of those routines.

I want to stay in bed.

So I lie there. I hit snooze. I prolong the inevitable. I mull over my day. I slip a toe out from under the coves. Brrr! That air is cold. I pull that toe right back in. I continue my quest. My sleepy head quest. My one more dream quest. And then, ugh, it’s that dang alarm again.

I want to stay in bed.

But I determine to get up. This time it’s a whole foot, part of a leg. I swing the covers aside. Oh, bye covers. Your weight feels so good. Pressing me down into slumber world. Keeping me warm and safe. Enveloping, yes, that is the word, the feeling, the…

I want to stay in bed.

But I get fully up. Wow, it is cold. Find my slippers. They are always turned around. After a minute, there, got them on. Begin the routines. Pull up my sheets and covers, replace the pillows, straighten everything up so it’s all nice and ready for when I return tonight. Because it’s ok really, getting up. There is a whole big day ahead of me. The good, the bad, and the ugly but mostly good I can honestly say. And there it is! I’m up, I’m good to go, routines await! But for one last glance…

Bye bed, see you tonight.

7 thoughts on “Oh Bed, Though Art So Cozy

  1. Answer to your title..”NO!” I like the structure here…how many times have I done the same thing. I used to have to set two alarms (before “snooze” was a thing…see how old I am?).
    And good for you, making your bed before facing the good, the bad, and the ugly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your title is a delightful catch that made me smile and right away, and your description reminds me of my mom, and how she used to say that she had to get out of bed in stages – 47 of them! Being a morning person, this slow awakening and gradually process out of bed is mostly unfamiliar to me, but I appreciate it through your writing and other family members that I live with. I love the humor throughout and the optimism at the end. A really fun read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment