When I’m 64!

When I get older, losing my hair, many years from now…

I love that song, don’t you? I love the lyrics, I love the jaunty little tune. Recently I heard Sir Paul talking about writing it on The Beatles channel. He talked about how when his dad entered his 60’s he, Paul, was still pretty young. Sixty seemed so far away. He wrote the song based on his impression of what his dad’s life was like from that young perspective. Now he looks back on his own sixties, right?

I also remember my grandmother saying, “Oh, to be 65 again.” Sixty five!!! At the time I was probably in my twenties and my grandmother was probably in her late seventies. We young things cracked up at what she had said. We couldn’t fathom being old enough to dream of going back to being that old.

Throughout my 40’s and 50’s I would often notice that many of the “untimely” deaths mentioned by family or written about in the news were people in their 60’s. The details of these deaths were often framed with, “There hadn’t been any indication…” or, “No one would have expected,” or “Took everyone who knew him or her by surprise.” This led me to develop a theory: The sixties is a tricky decade. I began to believe that when you hit your sixties you were at a precarious moment in life and you’d better watch out. If you got through the decade then you’d be ok. Your seventies would be much smoother sailing.

Well, guess what! Here I am in my sixties. I’m not at my Grandmother’s golden 65 yet, not even at the elder Mr. McCartney’s infamous 64, but I’m in THAT DECADE. And I’ve figured some things out. And they make sense to me, in my mind, so I thought I’d share. Your sixties are a turning point. You just don’t realize it yet. You see, when you hit your sixties you are still going strong. Your mind is sharp, your body is strong, your capacity for learning is great. In other words you’ve still got it! But…

And this is a big but…

Your sixties are a turning point. You need to respect your body and its needs a bit more these days than you used to. You need to tumble into bed if you feel tired. Tend to those colds by providing yourself a little more TLC. Put your feet up and rest when you come home absolutely bushed. Check in with your doctor if things just don’t feel ‘right’. I think, now, that when you get to your sixties, you just can’t run on your last ounce of steam on a regular basis. That was fine in the past, but for a healthy present you need to readjust.

In other words, going back to my theory, it’s not that the sixties are a tricky decade. It’s just that they take us by surprise. Because we are still strong and can still do so much, but we need to adjust our stride. We need to embrace a new pace rather than fight it. Because that new pace does not mean we are done. Not at all. It just means we are ready to keep on keeping on so we need to respect the number. Respect the decade. Respect ourselves.

Will you still be sending me a valentine, birthday greetings, bottle of wine?

8 thoughts on “When I’m 64!

  1. Love the Beetle connection in this post. LONG ago, when the Beetles were young men and I was just a little girl, I could not even imagine 64…..now I certainly can….
    Age is a number not a stage, I have learned and in your 60s you learn to respect and be grateful for more. You take less for granted, and you know every day matters. Thanks for the reminder/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is brilliant! I love the rhythm, the lilt, the cadence that you start with the fab four, and keep throughout the piece, and then switch back to the lyrics to tie it all together at the end, – not to mention the message! Your slice is important and welcomed advice for one who will be IN THAT DECADE in two months: thoughtful, reasonable, and positive, for which I am grateful. So well done, all the way around!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that song, and I’m 64. I do still feel strong and, in my mind anyway, young. But I think you are so right about it being a turning point and being aware of what our bodies are telling us.
    Great use of the song to tie your piece together. (And yes, my husband still gives me valentines, birthday greetings and an occasional bottle of wine.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m in that decade, too. 60+1, which seems not as far into the 60s as saying my actual age. It is a decade of adjustment, of feeling done w/ a career but also feeling a need to do more. Love the connection to the Beatles and thinking about expectations of growing older, which are often inaccurate from a younger perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m feeling very grateful that I stopped in to catch this advice. 64 is less than a decade away and while I am enjoying the wisdom and power of my 50s, hearing you describe the 60s comes as the just right set of thoughts to carry with me. I hear the tune throughout this slice and it offers a comfort to accompany your important message: “Because we are still strong and can still do so much, but we need to adjust our stride. We need to embrace a new pace rather than fight it.” Thank you so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this! I am two birthdays away from 50. Sometimes it feels so incredibly old! And other times I can’t believe I already have grey hair. It’s a weird feeling. I feel this line: “We need to embrace a new pace rather than fight it.” I’m not slowing down by any means, but my life is running at a different pace than it used to.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I take the Jack Benny approach and celebrate my 39th birthday every year.

    This is a light but deep reflection of reaching the new 50. Long live all of us.

    Like

Leave a comment