A Few Moments of Fame

Ever have one of those moments you just dread? A moment you have avoided your whole life? A moment you love to watch someone else enjoy, but, “Nope, not me,” sings inside your head?

Yup, me too. Only today one of those moments became mine, all mine. And it was all because of my class!

We have a fundraising PTO basketball game coming up in our district. It will be tons of fun. A team called the Harlem Wizards are going to play against a team of teachers from the district. It won’t go well for the teachers. Picture the Harlem Globetrotters simply “trotting” all over other teams. Yeah, it’s going to get ugly. But it is in the name of fun and so it will be…fun!

Today was a pep rally for the big event. One member of the team came to get the kids all psyched up to come to the event. It was really fun up until…

“Boys and girls, I need a few of you to help me up here. If I pick you come on up and we will play some games and you might be able to win some prizes!”

Everyone sat at attention with their hands up, just like they were instructed. So cute, kids love this.

“Well that was great, now I need one more person. I need one of your teachers to come up here and help us with our game!”

Ok, I’ve been here before. My class will yell, “Mrs. Scannell, Mrs. Scannell!” I’ll keep my eyes low, no eye contact with that person scanning all the adult faces. He will choose the first person he gets that glimmer from, that hint of a, “Oh, well, ok, if you insist.” And that is not going to be me.

“Is this your teacher?” He was coming closer.

“Is this the one you are talking about?” And closer.

“Head down, eyes down, you got this,” I told myself.

“What’s her name?” Way too close.

MRS. SCANNELL!

Oh my god. It didn’t work. My fail-safe plan failed. I’d been routed out.

How could my class do this to me?

Look up (you have to now). Smile (it’s expected). Put out your hand (he has his extended to you, it’s the only acceptable response). And off I go.

It was actually fun! And it was really funny. And my class was so excited. One of my students had also been chosen and he kept glancing at me as if to say, “I’ve got your back, Mrs. Scannell!” And when my big moment came, and I totally did not even come close to catching that ball, and I got to sit back down, I realized…

It was ok. It was fun. It made my class so happy. They all came up and hugged me afterwards, like I had won an award.

So there, I figure I’ve had my few moments of fame and survived. Now I can go back to my quiet little corner where I keep my eyes down.

10 thoughts on “A Few Moments of Fame

  1. This slice captures the emotion artfully and slices through time to encapsulate the episode beautifully, in a neat, easy read. Having witnessed the whole thing, I can unequivocally say that you were gracious, poised, and (outwardly) appropriately enthusiastic under that hidden dread. Thank you for falling on that sword for all of us who were potential victims, and creating a delightful slice out of it as well. A double bonus!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We have all been there! It’s not easy to get up in front of everyone. I’m sure your students enjoyed it though. Your writing shows the feelings and thoughts you had in this moment. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh man! You captured PERFECTLY the “beloved-teacher” dread. It’s wonderful to be so loved by your students that they want to see you participate, but it is WAY out of the comfort zone for many. I’m glad you had fun, despite the initial hesitation! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Been there! In fact, I feel like i’ve been in the gym with kids chanting my names enough times to feel like the staff thinks i’m some kind of attention hog and love it. i mean, i like doing stuff in the name of engaging the kids and i am always humbled when they choose my name to chant, but yes, i am always cringing inside, avoiding eye contact, and hoping someone else gets a turn. and i’m always happy when they do. but it’s part of the job. this was really cool. good idea for a post and i’m glad you had fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sometimes I have to pretend I don’t care about this sort of thing – act my way through it! I used to hate it, but I’m used to it now. Too bad your class didn’t back you up, but it sounds like it turned out okay!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We love to interact with the children, but we are not exactly looking for recognition–and certainly not mass attention. I understand well your initial apprehension. It was, however, a great event.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment