Play!

Play is a key ingredient to happiness. It can tip the scales of most moments from mundane to memorable. When my boys were young we had a Labrador Retriever named Ranger. He was a great dog with a big huge personality. Ranger acted as if he was the third boy in the family. It was easy to see where he got this notion since he was included in all the games the boys played.

My boys grew older and so did Ranger. Eventually Ranger’s playing days were over. We were sad to see him go, he was a great companion, a legendary dog. After several years we decided another dog was in order. I was a bit afraid that this dog might not be as playful as Ranger since there were no longer two young boys to engage with him in play. That problem was solved by bringing not one but two dogs into our household.

Harry and Ace had a great life together. One a labradoodle, the other a Rottweiler mix, they played and played and played. Ace, the Rottweiler, was the wilder of the two, Harry, the labradoodle, the more sensible. Harry had this way of getting Ace going, leaving him to race around and around the yard, all the while hiding behind a tree to “give him his space”. The look on his face seemed to say, “There, that will tire him out.”

Time continued to pass as it will do. A year ago, as I approached retirement, I began to think about my situation. My children were grown and my house was growing emptier. Harry, my remaining dog and companion, was well into his fourteenth year. I decided I should get a puppy. But who would play with the puppy, I worried. He would only have one little old lady to depend on (hahaha, I’m really not a little old lady but the story sounds so much better this way!)

Along came Willy. He is a labradoodle as well. He has a huge personality like Ranger. He has wise eyes like Harry. And he likes to play just like Ace. I don’t think I could stop him even if I was approaching 95 instead of 65! And he fills my retirement days with laughter and fun.

Anybody want to play?

2 thoughts on “Play!

  1. I loved reading this, and I love that Willy is the best combination of Ranger, Ace, and Harry. all rolled up in one furry bundle of love and energy. He was meant to be, and clearly meant to be yours. I love the photos, too – especially the mid-air leap!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment