The Irony of It

Today was a great day!

  1. My colleague and I spent an entire day of our Spring Break in school.
  2. I learned that I get to spend an entire week of Summer Break…in school.

So, the question is, is this irony?

Let us first examine this elusive term (since I have no idea if I am getting this right):

  • Merriam-Webster defines irony as: a situation that is strange or funny because things happen in a way that seems to be the opposite of what you expected
  • Dictionary.com states: an outcome of events contrary to what was, or might have been, expected.
  • The Oatmeal (a very strange blog that made me laugh) defines three types of irony, one being: Situational Irony: when something happens and a reversal of expectations occurs.

Hmm, so let’s see. I am on vacation this week, technically, Spring Break. I should be enjoying the pursuit of personal pleasures; eating bonbons in front of the television, fishing (hahaha, now that is irony!), laying on a beach in some tropical location, shooting craps in Vegas (another hahaha, just to see if you are paying attention), but instead I am at school. Cleaning the crap out of a grade level storage closet with one of my five colleagues since we are the only two available. I should be miserable but, guess what,

it was great!!!

Irony?

So at the end of this awesome day, I get an email that is even more awesome!

Finally, you say, she is going to grab that box of bonbons, find that fishing pole, book that exotic island, brush up on her shooting arm (for craps, remember?),

Nope, not even close. I just learned that I am going back to Teacher’s College this summer for the Reader’s Workshop Summer Institute! Yup, that means, this summer, when I am technically on Summer Break…

I’ll be spending a week in school! And I can’t wait!

Irony?

I’m not sure, but it just kind of cracked me up that after spending a day doing something I’ve been wanting to do for a few years (taking free time and spending it working in school) I get the email I have been waiting for letting me know that I can spend a whole week doing something I’ve been waiting to find out if I get to do again (taking free time and spending it learning for a week to improve my work skills).

So Teacher’s College, here I come, woohoo, anyone else attending the Summer Reading Institute in August? If so, maybe I’ll see you there!

3 thoughts on “The Irony of It

  1. Oh….what wonderful wonderful news about your opportunity at the Teachers’ College Summer Institute. I understand that for many it is a pivotal week. And that closet that finally got cleaned out….? Let me count how many things weigh me down year after year. Things I never get to….it was worth a day, right?!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment